Skills Test

Professional Skills Tests

The Professional Skills tests for prospective teachers assess the core skills that teachers need to fulfil their professional role in schools, rather than the subject knowledge needed for teaching. This is to ensure all teachers are competent in numeracy and literacy, regardless of their specialism.

All current and prospective trainee teachers must pass the skills tests in numeracy and literacy before they can be recommended for the award of qualified teacher status (QTS) and before they start their ITT course.

The skills tests: 

Changes to the arrangements for taking the skills tests

In February 2018, changes to the arrangements for the skills tests were announced.

  • Candidates will have unlimited attempts to achieve a test pass. 
  • The 2-year lockout period will be removed; candidates previously locked out will be able to book tests for both subjects.
  • All candidates will be able to book 3 tests per subject, free of charge. A charge will be applied from the fourth test attempt per subject.

When can I take the tests?

You can take your skills tests once you have evidence of having submitted your application through UCAS Teacher Training.

Practise the tests

You are strongly advised to practise the tests before taking them to familiarise yourself with the functionality of the tests. Practice tests are available through

Do I still need GCSE grade C/Level 4 or equivalent in Mathematics and English Language?

Yes. The tests do not replace the GCSE grade C/Level 4 equivalence entry requirement.